Grouper Night: A Date in Review

Earlier this week, I was invited by one of my friends to join her on a Grouper date. Grouper, if you don’t know, is a social site that pairs to sets of friends, 3 and 3. For a small fee (per person), Grouper makes the match, arranges the date and covers the first round. You don’t have any communication with your match and his/her friends until the date itself. If you ever ran out of something to say, you could simply jump over to the conversation next to you.

I honestly enjoyed the date, but don’t think anything will come of it – romantically, at least. I particularly enjoyed it because it gave an organic feel to what something that came about thanks to a website. Remember, this is coming from a girl who has her doubts about online dating. But, alas, I’m getting ahead of myself.

The Date

My two friends and I knew nothing about our potential suitors going into it. Though, had the guys filled out there two truths and a lie, we would have been given those as ice breakers. Despite being without, there was never a lull in conversation.

The guys were college buddies turned roomies and/or colleagues. The guy I ended up across from ended up being the best of the three. He was tall and skinny (my type) and didn’t seem too bad. I did end up switching numbers, but (like I said) I don’t think anything will come of it.

We enjoyed the evening for a long bit, 4 or 5 rounds worth. But, at the end, split up to find our own way home. For one of my girlfriends and I, that meant more drinks and a sex toy shop, but more on that later.

So as I said, I enjoyed the evening. If you’re ever wondering about it, I would highly recommend giving Grouper a chance. See the image below for the cities they play Cupid in:

20131207-091745.jpg

My only complaint, however, is that, despite signing up over six months ago, I have yet to be matched on my own date. I’m beginning to think there’s a glitch with my application. I emailed our date concierge about it, and got a very form/automatic response back that didn’t even address my question.

They also didn’t have our reservation, but they quickly fixed that at the restaurant. It may just have been that my friend’s name is a bitch to spell, and it somehow got fussed up. No harm, no foul there.

Leave a Reply

