Should I Stay or Should I Go Now?

Darling you gotta let me know
Should I stay or should I go?
If you say that you are mine
I’ll be here ’til the end of time
So you got to let know
Should I stay or should I go?

 

The Clash

This could very well be my song for the last month and a half. I’ve neither shitted (shat?) or gotten off the pot. I’m stuck. I’m stuck in a land of should I stay or should I go. 

The fact that I’m writing this should be proof enough. It should be plain as day that GIRL, dump his ass already. But, no, it isn’t. At the end of the day, I still want him. At the end of the day, I still have so many feelings I’ve never told him, and feelings I haven’t been ready to face head on should things go sour. 

As if bad sign on top of bad sign on top bad sign wasn’t enough, today’s relationship advice in the Chicago RedEye was along the lines of:

QUESTION: how do I get my guy to commit more / want to spend more time with me

ANSWER: Honey, he may like you, but that sure as hell don’t mean he likes you enough. 

Ok — I may have added a few superlatives to that bit, but I believe my point gets across. I don’t think he likes me enough and I don’t think I’d be OK with that in the long run. 

Though I’m sure it won’t give me the answer I want, I’ve googling for one of those yes-no infographics. I haven’t found one yet, but I’m quite interested to see what it says. Maybe I should make one. Turn this whole shitty mess into possible career: the breakup/romance infographic-ist. 

I can see myself raking in the millions now. Book deals. TV spots. The whole nine yards. 

My horoscope says I should start investing in my ideas. I really do think it’s a sign. 

Although, if I stoop to the level of believing in signs, I think it’s safe to say I really should run for the hills with this here relationship. I mean, there has been sign after sign after sign after sign. 

Le sigh. 

Leave a Reply

