Was it a Date? Was it Not a Date?

Apparently I suck at blogging just as much as I suck at online dating. Yea, that whole Match.com experiment has gotten me nowhere. I have no desire to put in the time or effort, so no wonder things like Match.com or even OkCupid have never worked.

Interestingly enough though, I did actually chat to guy for a tick from Tinder… the Hot or Not type dating app. I’m one interesting cookie, I know.

I suppose that, in some ways, you could say I’ve had a lull for content. But in other ways, I haven’t. What I’m trying to say is that last night, I may or may not have had a date. I’m still not sure. I don’t date. It’s outside of my realm of expertise (no really, I wasn’t kidding when I said that I don’t date. I don’t.)

What I do know is this:

  1. He said he wanted to take me out to dinner* but actually made the plans via text.
  2. He was about 10 minutes late.
  3. He picked me up (but then we walked to the restaurant from my house).
  4. We sat at the crappy restaurant talking for a few hours.
  5. He paid.
  6. There was never a lull in the conversation.
  7. We had a good time.
  8. We hugged goodnight.
  9. There was no hint of a second date update.

* After making a drunken ass fool of himself.

To make matters worse, HowAboutWe.com’s 5 Signs It’s Not a Date article was no help:

  1. They bring a friend. No.
  2. They don’t offer to pay/let you pay. No.
  3. They talk about their love life. No.
  4. They’re relaxed around you… a little too relaxed. Eh?
  5. You Don’t Know if They’re Interested at the End. Very much so.

Thanks for that, How About We. Lot’s of help.

Regardless of if it was or wasn’t, I was more excited about than I’d like to admit. That being said, if it wasn’t/nothing comes of it, I won’t be devastated. He’s a fun guy, a Southern Gentleman, but I’m in no rush. But, yes, if he were to ask again, I’d probably say yes (Don’t tell my mother).

And so, I leave you now with a little poll. Do your worst:

One thought on “Was it a Date? Was it Not a Date?

Leave a Reply

